Cosmo Lied to Me.

I’m the type of person who constantly buys Cosmopolitan Magazine, no not for the sex tips, but because of what they’re promising. I usually trust their beauty hacks and tips, and this time they guaranteed “cool-girl waves” by twisting my hair into buns.

They were wrong.

gallery-1443482549-bcbg-waves
My hair did not turn out this flawless.

So here’s how it went for me…

1. Wet hair

2. Apply your styling products. They recommended shine cream, shaping gel, and blow-dry balm, but I used: Nexxus Hydra-Light Leave In Conditioning Foam, Rusk Elixir Mist, and John Frieda’s Sea Waves (a few of my faves).

products

3. Part hair in the middle and separate into 4-5 sections

4. Twist hair into buns

I got to this section and it was going great. Other than feeling like Scary Spice, I thought that this might work for my hair.

I had a little too much fun taking these pictures…

Good thing I didn’t have anywhere to go yesterday, because this hair trick took FOREVER to dry. If you have hours to waste in order to keep your hair in buns, then go for it.

Step 5. Let hair set and “unravel buns right before you walk out the door

Finally it was time to take the buns out….

 

Instead of waves, my hair came out looking like a massive rat’s nest.

Yes, it was fun to play with….but I didn’t want to leave the house with hair looking like I’ve been in a convertible all day without a hat.

So Cosmo, this styling trick is unfortunately not for me. I wouldn’t call it a “mind-blowing beauty hack,” but better luck with the next time!

 

Do you have any experience with magazine falsities?

What beauty hack do you want me to test next?

Let me know what YOU think!


6 thoughts on “Cosmo Lied to Me.

Let me know what you think!